​User Reviews – Kenya

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 1-10 of 1,358 Reviews
Alexandre Kosa   –  
United Arab Emirates AE
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: May 14, 2024

Email Alexandre Kosa  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

wild as primary time
Overall rating
5/5

To do Masai mara park , senretti park. Unforgivable landscape

Terri McCargo   –  
United States US
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: May 13, 2024

Email Terri McCargo

Beautiful people and exciting animals every day.
Overall rating
5/5

Even with all of the rain and flooding taking place in Kenya are experienced was amazing amazing. The people were beautiful and so willing to help and I could not believe all of the animals we were able to see every day.
Our trip was planned out in full detail by Esther.And our driver Duncan made everyday an adventure.We were able to visit three of the national parks and stayed in wonderful hotels along the way.
I cannot think of one thing. I would have changed other than maybe repairing a few pot holes in the roads, but it did not take away from our experience at all.

Simon Prince   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: May 13, 2024

Email Simon Prince

Masai Mara has to be seen by all once in your lifetime
Overall rating
5/5

On arrival in Nairobi, you really feel you have entered Africa. The people are very friendly and willing to help you in anyway.
Travel to and from the Masai Mara is, well lets just say, an adventure. Traffic is horrendous, roads are a poor state of repair and getting used to seeing lots of garbage at the side of the road takes a lot of getting used to.
However, once you reach the Masai Mara, you enter another world. The scenery is magnificent and with the help of a good guide, seeing the animals is beyond expectations.
If you cannot enjoy yourself here, you cannot enjoy yourself anywhere.

Anetta Damm   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: May 7, 2024

Email Anetta Damm  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

An underrated holiday destination
Overall rating
5/5

It was definitely one of my best holidays. Apart from the beautiful nature and wildlife, I particularly remember the kindness of the people. Kenya has so much to offer. I went on a three-day safari, which was very impressive. I went partying in Nairobi, visited the slums and went on various guided tours. I was in Diani and enjoyed the beautiful beach there. I had a good time eating out and I never felt unsafe. However, as a tourist, I also made sure not to go into dangerous areas alone. I also only travelled from A to B by Uber and didn't walk thee city on my own.

Ilunia   –  
Estonia EE
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: May 6, 2024

Email Ilunia  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great Safari experience, avoid some tourist traps
Overall rating
5/5

- The safari experience was unforgettable! Masai Maara park was the best, I wish we had spent there one day extra instead of other parks.
- Amboseli was flooded a little bit, as it was rainy season when we went. But that attracted lots of different birds, however, all the big cats were hiding.
- Camps were very well taken care of. All rooms had private showers, towels, soaps, toilet paper, mosquito nets, plugs, and hot water. Some camps had limited electricity, but it was fine.
- Masai village was OK, and interesting, but very commercial and you can see it is made for tourists.
- Food in budget camps is good (pancakes for breakfast were GREAT, for lunch very common were - lentils, spinach, chicken or beef stews, salads, noodles, pineapple or watermelon) but I would recommend bringing some snacks as well, as all camps have same food pretty much, so you might want something different. OR if you have a special diet - please think of bringing your own food.
- Picnic food was 3 out 5, Sandwich with 2 thin slices of cucumber and butter, a piece of chicken thigh, fruits and juice. Our vegetarian friends had 2 sandwiches one with tomato slices, the other one with cucumber slices.
- Sometimes drivers did not have enough water even though we were promised 1 litre of water per person per day, some days we only got 0,5l after for a whole day and had to buy our water.
- Masai Market in Nairobi felt like a tourist trap, as people tried to sell you a lot of things and were VERY pushy. If I had known, I would have avoided it.
- Diani Beach - great beach, water is very warm, beautiful white sand, lots of crabs and pretty shells. But the beach boys are VERY rude, insulting, pushy and trying to sell you whatever they can - we asked to buy something every 3 minutes, so we could not relax by the beach at all. I would recommend staying in a resort, as resorts have private areas that are by the beach and beach boys do not enter there.

Alex   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 30, 2024

Email Alex  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

A magical place
Overall rating
5/5

Kenya has my heart forever - I’d go back to visit it each year if possible, it has everything: scenic landscapes, the friendliest people, delicious food, wildlife, gorgeous sunsets - it’s difficult to put it into words to describe its beauty.

Kara   –  
United States US
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 30, 2024

Email Kara  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Absolutely beautiful!!!
Overall rating
5/5

We had a full day layover on our way to Zim and made the most of it by booking a game drive in Nairobi National Park and it was absolutely worth the jet lag! It was so incredible and we were able to see most of the animals on our list including Lions and both Black and White Rhinos! It was absolutely incredible. I wish we had more time there but I’m so glad we were able to make the most of our time there with the game drive. Our tour operator Olengugih Safaris was incredible and went above and beyond to make our day in Kenya truly magical, will definitely book with them next time we go to Kenya!

Elif   –  
United States US
Visited: April 2024 Reviewed: Apr 28, 2024

Email Elif  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The most beautiful country and the friendliest people in the world
Overall rating
5/5

This was my fourth trip to Africa and my 3rd to Kenya, but it was a first both for my husband and my daughter. I always wanted to share the vast, untouched beauty of Africa with them. I wanted them to see the friendliness, sweetness of people. These words actually cannot even begin to describe Kenya. Now both my husband and my daughter know what I tried to describe, and they already miss Kenya. We will be back for sure.
In this particular trip we went first to Lake Nakuru, stayed in The Cliff. An amazing camp right at the lake with amazing food, amazing sunrise, amazing everything. Very chic and very comfortable, too. We went to two safari rides and a hippo boat ride. Kenya is a surreal country where your Landcruiser stops for giraffs and zebras crossing the road. We chose a wake up call for the sunrise and saw probably the most amazing sunrise on earth. With monkeys around the camp, hippos in the water. We had a walking tour and were right next to amazing animals. Then we continued to Masai Mara and stayed right in the park where animals are coming into this amazing camp, Entim Mara. No fences, but guards to accompany you to your tent and wait for you all night. Whenever you want to come out, you open your tent (more like a super chic hotel suite) and they immediately come. In the mornings when you wake up they bring you coffee, tea, or whatever you want to drink. At night there are comfy hot water bottles under your sheets. The food is to die for. Both camps had wifi, no problem. We went in April, so the temperatures were comfortable. Occasional rains, but no tourist crowds. Masai Mara has so many mind blowing adventures, it is hard to fit here all. Being so close to lions, that one can touch them, seeing tiny baby elefants, witnessing giraffe habits, and the vast beauty of Africa are just a few snippets. All in all, like my husband said after the trip, Kenya changes you. It adds dimensions to your life, you did not know before that they existed.

Drago Davide   –  
Italy IT
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 24, 2024

Email Drago Davide  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

beautiful country and friendly peoples
Overall rating
5/5

i have visited several countries in africa , kenya is very beautiful andthe parks never disappoint

Anush   –  
United States US
Visited: March 2024 Reviewed: Apr 21, 2024

Email Anush  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Excellent Safari Experince
Overall rating
5/5

I booked a trip with Leisure Escape Safari. They did an excellent job. The trip to Kenya was very good. Hospitable people. I visited four national parks. I started in Nairobi and first visited Amboseli, then Naivasha Lake, Nakuru Lake and finally Maasai Mara. Nakuru Lake was the best for seeing wildlife. I saw all five major wildlife during the trip. It was an excellent trip overall and enjoyed my stay in Kenya.

Average User Rating

  • 4.8/5
  • Wildlife
  • Scenery
  • Bush Vibe
  • Birding

Rating Breakdown

Write a User Review