Tanzania

- User reviews
User Rating
323 Reviews
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Write a User Review
Rating Breakdown
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
0
1 star
0
Sort by: 1-10 of 323 reviews
By Eleanore Avery from United StatesUS
| 65 years of age or older | Experience level: over 5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: February 2012  -  Reviewed: 19 Apr 2017

After 25 safaris, Tanzania is the best.

My first safari was to South Africa in 1998. I have made 25 safaris since then and now visit only Tanzania and the Serengeti. I have traveled to West, South and North in Tanzania. I would not return to Katavi and Mahale. I would certainly recommend all the parks in southern (Selous, Ruaha, etc.). Tarangire is great for Elephant lovers in particular and one must visit the Ngorogoro crater at least once. The Serengeti has a year round perpetual migration of Zebras and Wildebeest. In the south one can see the birthing of about 5000 calves a DAY in February...and all the big cats are drawn to this supermarket. The 'middle' of the Serengeti is home to all the cats year round as well as elephants, and very busy, but not to be missed. The north holds my favorite camp...Sayari. This is where I go to witness big migration crossing Mara River in August/Sept., but this area has wildlife all year. Tanzania has everything....all the cats: Lions, Leopards, Cheetahs, Servals and others. I have been to Namibia, South Africa, Botswana, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Ruanda and Tanzania. My favorite wonderful safari experience is still Tanzania, and I am returning for my 26th safari (and 10th arranged by Vuriva safari company) in August 2017.... more

Link to this review 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes | No

By Schmidt from GermanyDE
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: February 2017  -  Reviewed: 31 Mar 2017

You can see the Big Five and many others.

Link to this review 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes | No

By Stephen Pigott from AustraliaAU
Rating
Visited: March 2017  -  Reviewed: 25 Mar 2017

Saw the big 5 easy

Bring heeps of US dollars. Everybody wants payment in US$. I brought $3000us I should have brought $6000 for Kilimanjaro,safari,gorillas,Zanzibar,hotels,tips,day trips etc. I did 3 country's in east Africa. A stable currency is preferred over a fluctuating local currency. Foreign owned business have to pay tax in US$ I was told.

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By Taha from United StatesUS
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: February 2017  -  Reviewed: 20 Mar 2017

Tanzania hosts the largest portion of the migratory route of the Wildebeest, Zebras and other wild animals as they search from North to South and follow the rains in the Serengeti National Park.

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By Terry Allen, allenfotowild from CanadaCA
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: March 2017  -  Reviewed: 18 Mar 2017

A must-see iconic destination with a nice selection of wild-life.

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By RomansTenNine from United StatesUS
| 35-50 years of age | Experience level: first safari
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
not rated
Visited: October 2016  -  Reviewed: 12 Mar 2017

Probably a little bit crowded for the bush vibe, there is some nice scenery but nothing that was a must see, lots of wildlife,

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By Re from AustriaAT
| 20-35 years of age | Experience level: first safari
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: October 2014  -  Reviewed: 21 Feb 2017

Can't say it in words - you have to see the amazing nature and wildlife

I did my safari with *feline safari tanzania* and that was awesome! Everything was perfect organized and worked out.
We saw sooooo many animals especially lions, the big five ,I think everything.
He was polite and always asked us what we wanna see and how we are doing .
We had our own cook and he made us such a lovely food it was soooo deliscous.
I was with them for 4 days camping safari ...I enjoyed so much and I do think a lot about the great time

Link to this review 1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes | No

By Sharon from United StatesUS
| 50-65 years of age | Experience level: first safari
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
not rated
Birding
Visited: January 2017  -  Reviewed: 15 Feb 2017

Northern Circuit - Tanzania

We spent 5 days in Tanzania during the first week of January 2017. Despite this being the "off season" (not during the Great Migration), we saw abundant wildlife and felt that our experience was truly 5 star. We visited Lake Manyara, Ngorongoro Crater, and Serengeti National Park. We saw not only the "Big Five", but countless giraffes, zebra, wildebeest, hippos, gazelles, countless varieties of birds - along with over 50 lions, elephant, African buffalo, cheetah, leopard, and more. The scenery was phenomenal - looked just like the professional travel photos we had seen in advance. Our safari included a visit to a Masai village and Oldupai Gorge (worth it). We stayed in the Serena lodge chain (great accommodations, and lodges blended nicely into the scenery). The roads are mostly dirt and very bumpy - be prepared - and our decision to drive one way and fly back to Arusha on a small regional plane (12 seater) was a good choice. Our guide/driver was highly knowledgable about the area and the wildlife, was a terrific driver, and made our trip. This was our first trip to Africa and the decision to select Tanzania as our safari destination was spot on - would definitely recommend. We travelled in and out of Kilimanjaro Airport and the air and ground service was great. Before you go, invest in a very good pair of binoculars! ... more

Link to this review 1 person found this review helpful. Did you? Yes | No

By Chris Woolgar from United KingdomGB
| 65 years of age or older | Experience level: 2-5 safaris
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: January 2017  -  Reviewed: 11 Feb 2017

The diversity of wildlife and scenery and sheer intensity of the safari experience. The friendliness of the people

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

By Patricia Sluyter from FranceFR
| 50-65 years of age | Experience level: first safari
Overall Rating
Wildlife
Scenic beauty
Bush vibe help
Birding
Visited: January 2017  -  Reviewed: 27 Jan 2017

Beautiful environment, wildlife and very kind people

This was the voyage of our Dreams. It startend a Year ago with the planning. I had the luck to get in contact with Desiree de Ridder from Afroriginal. She helpt me and gave us advise to book with them the safari of our Dreams. We are with 7 personnes. We were picked up from the AirPort bij Fay and Steward, our guids and drivers for the next week. We started in Arusha with the Arusha National Park. really relaxed to get used to the Cars erachter and how everything works. the kanoe safari was great and we spotted Rhinos in the water.
The next day we went to Lake Manyara National Park. We stayed in the Wayo Green Camp. It was like a fairy tale. Your meal under the stars with the Buffalo 15 meters away looking at you. We have seen a lot of animals and we had there also a night game drive. We slept in tents, it was fantastic. The food was delicious.
We had 2 landcruisers with Fay and Steward as drivers and guides. They told us a lot about the Parks and wildlife. Special story's about animals and the Masai. They are very nice to travel with.
After the Lake Manyara National Park we went to the Southern Serengeti. It was a beautiful drive we saw Masai villages, and at the end of the day the first Lion. We slept in the Ndutu Kati Tented Camp. A camp with a beautiful vieuw. Everything was perfectly arranged. The next day we went to the Central Serengeti . IT was amazing to see the migration. Thousends of animals, zebra's wildbeests. We saw a leopard in a tree, cheeta mom with 4 childeren. To much to tell.
We slept in a Kati Kati Tented Camp at night a ostrich, hyena and elephant visited the campsite.
We drove the next day to the ngorongoro Lodge, saw on the way a lot of animals. And had to say farewell to the Serengeti. We left early in the morning to descend into the Crater. It was special to see how green it was here.
The silence. I think it looks like the garden of Eden. Very impressive.
In the afternoon we drove to our accommodation Tloma Mountain Lodge. We had a Nice time at the pool .
The next day we had to take the plane from Arusha to Zanizibar, say good bye to Fay and Steward and Thanks them for the impressive journey. It was a journey of a lifetime.
we stayed a day in Stone Town also very Nice to see, we slept in the Coffeeshouse house. really good hotel and service. The next day we had a cab to our beach boutique resort Mwezi. On the Way we had a spicetour, we enjoyed it. The Mwezi boutique resort is fantastic. We had per couple a beach house to our disposal, looking out over the sea and swimmingpool. We booked half board the food was very good. The service also.
Desiree understood perfectly what we wanted and expected from this holyday. Thanks again.
... more

Link to this review Was this review helpful? Yes | No

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 33

SafariBookings Expert Panel

Our panel of 22 experts wrote a total of 930 reviews about the countries and parks we cover.